MSSpeech-Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Windows™ Speech Recognition Forums for New and Disabled Users. Help, Files and FAQs. > New Users & General Questions
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Transferring learned words to new computer?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Transferring learned words to new computer?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message / View First Unread Post
Wes7373 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 06/Oct/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wes7373 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Transferring learned words to new computer?
    Posted: 06/Oct/2008 at 8:28pm
Hello all-

I have been using Vista speech recognition for several months and now have a new desktop.  I would rather not repeat the training too much (although there are a few words that it always gets wrong and won't let me re-teach it), but have no idea how to set up the new computer.  Is there a file I can transfer over that holds the words it has learned, etc?

Any help would be appreciated.

thanks,
wes
Back to Top
cmwilkerson View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 06/Sep/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 43
Post Options Post Options   Quote cmwilkerson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07/Oct/2008 at 11:58am
Good question!
Dr. Chris Wilkerson
Carson Doctors Group
MVP TabletPC
www.MedicalTabletPC.com
www.Digital-Doc.com

Back to Top
mmarkoe View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 24/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08/Oct/2008 at 1:31pm
Originally posted by cmwilkerson

Transferring learned words to new computer? Good question!
The short answer for now is no. What you can do is transfer your user training profile to another computer. Be advised, if you are used to doing this with Dragon NaturallySpeaking, at this time,* it is not anywhere near as elegant to export and import a user profile in Windows Speech Recognition. To learn how to transfer your user profile to another computer there is a file in the New Users and General Questions section on Backing Up Your User Profile.


Edited by mmarkoe - 10/Oct/2008 at 7:28pm
Marty Markoe, MVP
Microsoft Valued Partner
See us at: http://www.mymsspeech.com
Back to Top
Wes7373 View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 06/Oct/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wes7373 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09/Oct/2008 at 10:01pm
Marty:

Thanks for the tip.  Worked without difficulty.  I copied the profile to a flash drive then just transferred it over to the new computer. 

wes
Back to Top
mmarkoe View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 24/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10/Oct/2008 at 1:07pm
Originally posted by Wes7373

Thanks for the tip.  Worked without difficulty.  I copied the profile to a flash drive then just transferred it over to the new computer. 
Flash drive (I have several lying around) is a great idea. Thanks.

Marty
Marty Markoe, MVP
Microsoft Valued Partner
See us at: http://www.mymsspeech.com
Back to Top
cmwilkerson View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 06/Sep/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 43
Post Options Post Options   Quote cmwilkerson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/Oct/2008 at 2:03am

Where do you place the backed up .MIG (SaveData.MIG) on the new computer in order to replace the existing or old profile. I copied my .mig file from work to home.

I want to copy my medical work profile to my home, hence the question. The backup worked fine, I just don't know where to place the file on my Hard drive. For now, I am just leaving it my documents as SaveData.MIG.
 
 


Edited by cmwilkerson - 11/Oct/2008 at 11:21am
Dr. Chris Wilkerson
Carson Doctors Group
MVP TabletPC
www.MedicalTabletPC.com
www.Digital-Doc.com

Back to Top
BradT View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 06/Oct/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 40
Post Options Post Options   Quote BradT Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/Oct/2008 at 12:34pm
Originally posted by cmwilkerson

Where do you place the backed up .MIG (SaveData.MIG) on the new computer in order to replace the existing or old profile. I copied my .mig file from work to home.

I want to copy my medical work profile to my home, hence the question. The backup worked fine, I just don't know where to place the file on my Hard drive. For now, I am just leaving it my documents as SaveData.MIG.
 


Once you've copied it to your new computer (where you copy it isn't important), just double-click the .MIG file and it will automatically launch the restore wizard and walk you through the restore.

Brad
Back to Top
cmwilkerson View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 06/Sep/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 43
Post Options Post Options   Quote cmwilkerson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/Oct/2008 at 12:49pm
Thanks done!  I don't recall reading that in the pdf but.... :-)
Dr. Chris Wilkerson
Carson Doctors Group
MVP TabletPC
www.MedicalTabletPC.com
www.Digital-Doc.com

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.66
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional

§- Thank you for visiting our Windows Speech Recognition and Macro Forum.. -§