MSSpeech-Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Windows™ Speech Recognition Forums > Microphones and Sound Input > Handheld/Desktop
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

WSR control by Philips Speechmike

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote redmiston Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: WSR control by Philips Speechmike
    Posted: 09/Dec/2013 at 1:28pm

To: Marty

Sorry for the delay, I appreciate your feedback and have finally found a solution to control WSR using a Philips Speechmike. I am a radiologist by trade and have been using dictation mikes for many years. I have need for a simpler dictation program for dictation as the hospital speech recognition dictation system is cumbersome and quite limited outside of the hospital system.
 Your medical radiology dictionary and WSRtoolkit fit the bill and now works well with WSR and the Philips Speechmike.

While the Speechmike is programable using the Philips Device Control Center, the combination of Cntrl and Windows logo key is not an option (that I know of) so I incorporated the free AutoHotKeys program and programed the Speechmike for alt-z combination (or any other hotkey) and used the AutoHotKeys macro below to send the Cntrl/Windows logo combination to turn WSR from off to listening .
 This sequence acts just like a PTT switch . Sounds like a cumbersome workaround but actually the process takes just a fraction of a second.
 I don’t like the action of the Speechmikes record slide switch so I programmed the back push button switch and this works great.

I’ve enclosed the AutoHotKeys   .ahk file for your convience or just copy and paste the macro below.

AutoHotKeys takes some learning but is not terribly difficult.......

!z::
Send {LCtrl down}+{LWin down}
Send {LCtrl up}+{LWin up}

return

The above macro is a modification of an original AutoHotKeys macro idea from "molkemon" at