MSSpeech-Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Windows™ Speech Recognition Forums for New and Disabled Users. Help, Files and FAQs. > New Users & General Questions
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Speech UX configuration not responding
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Speech UX configuration not responding

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message / View First Unread Post
mcpeg View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 14/Sep/2011
Location: Miami, FL
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
Post Options Post Options   Quote mcpeg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Speech UX configuration not responding
    Posted: 26/Oct/2011 at 3:50pm
Have been having trouble over past couple days with WSR not working properly.  When turn it on and dictated, it hears and types "Moving", and my cursor moves to another location.  I tried to use the "improve speech recognition" but the program keeps "not responding" and when I go to close the program I get a message saying "Speech UX configuration not responding." 
 
Any ideas what is going wrong here?   Thanks
Back to Top
andy t View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 26/Apr/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 134
Post Options Post Options   Quote andy t Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29/Oct/2011 at 7:31am

Originally posted by mcpeg

Have been having trouble over past couple days with WSR not working properly.  When turn it on and dictated, it hears and types "Moving", and my cursor moves to another location.  I tried to use the "improve speech recognition" but the program keeps "not responding" and when I go to close the program I get a message saying "Speech UX configuration not responding."  

Any ideas what is going wrong here?   Thanks



Hi mcpeg,

I suspect your current speech recognition profile has become corrupt for some reason.  This happens to me from time to time.  It may be time to make a new user profile from scratch.

To do this; Start Menu > Control Panel > Speech Recognition > Advanced speech options.  Then on the Speech Recognition tab under the heading "Recognition Profiles," click the "New" button and give your new speech profile another name.  (Different to that of your previous one).  Then click OK and follow the prompts/training the new profile and configuring microphone etc.

Once you have done all that, you should have a brand-new profile starting from scratch.

It may pay you to download the free Microsoft speech apps that are available from Microsoft on the web along with the modestly priced WSRtoolkit available from this site.  With these apps at your disposal, you can backup and/or restore any speech recognition profile that becomes corrupt at any time.  This then saves you the time with making and training a new speech profile from scratch each time a corruption happens.

Hope this helps

andy t



Edited by andy t - 29/Oct/2011 at 11:18am
Back to Top
mcpeg View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 14/Sep/2011
Location: Miami, FL
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
Post Options Post Options   Quote mcpeg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29/Oct/2011 at 2:39pm
Thanks.  I tried this, but it did not work, either.   While trying to train the new profile it did not hear my voice and I kept getting a "Not Responding" message.   I went back to my old profile with a new headset, hoping it was just my microphone.  This did not help either.   My program is just acting quirky.   Now, what it is doing, is the following:  
 
I will dictate, and the program does nothing.  Then, when I go to close the program, because it is not working, the dictated text suddenly appears on the screen with a bunch of "if if if" added on.   
 
I hate to delete my old profile because I have more than a year's worth of extreme training.  I wish I could figure out what is up with my program.  Are there any bugs/infections that affect it??
 
Thanks so much.
 
M. Collins
Back to Top
mcpeg View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 14/Sep/2011
Location: Miami, FL
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
Post Options Post Options   Quote mcpeg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29/Oct/2011 at 2:58pm
Just a note to let you know I finally figured it out.  I had plugged a webcam into my computer and the webcam program hijacked my setting.  So, I switched the device from the webcam, back to the front microphone, and that did the trick.   Whew.  I am so glad for this.  Thanks for the help
Back to Top
mmarkoe_admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 16/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 331
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe_admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/Nov/2011 at 10:09pm
Originally posted by mcpeg

Just a note to let you know I finally figured it out.  I had plugged a webcam into my computer and the webcam program hijacked my setting.  So, I switched the device from the webcam, back to the front microphone, and that did the trick.   Whew.  I am so glad for this.  Thanks for the help
The first thing to check when you have audio problems with WSR is to check if your Default input device is the microphone you wish to use for dictation. This is easy to do. Right Click (not Left) the speaker icon in the lower right Taskbar. Select Recording Devices and make sure the device you wish to use has the checkmark.
 
Marty Markoe, eMicrophones, Inc.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.66
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional

§- Thank you for visiting our Windows Speech Recognition and Macro Forum.. -§