MSSpeech-Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Windows™ Speech Recognition Forums for New and Disabled Users. Help, Files and FAQs. > WSRToolkit
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Which takes precedence?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Which takes precedence?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message / View First Unread Post
bipolarbear View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 16/Jan/2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 55
Post Options Post Options   Quote bipolarbear Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Which takes precedence?
    Posted: 25/Mar/2011 at 9:02pm
The microphone tuning facility in the toolkit or the level you set in control panel sounds?  Are they independent?  What exactly is the relationship between them?  For example the toolkit has an option to adjust signal-to-noise ratio, and obviously the control panel facility does not.  Thank you
Back to Top
mmarkoe_admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 16/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 331
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe_admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26/Mar/2011 at 9:37am
Originally posted by bipolarbear

The microphone tuning facility in the toolkit or the level you set in control panel sounds?  Are they independent?  What exactly is the relationship between them?  For example the toolkit has an option to adjust signal-to-noise ratio, and obviously the control panel facility does not.  Thank you
Set up the microphone values in Tune Microphone and shut down and restart WSR. These values will hold unless you redo the WSR microphone setup.
 
Marty
Back to Top
bipolarbear View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 16/Jan/2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 55
Post Options Post Options   Quote bipolarbear Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26/Mar/2011 at 11:59am
Thanks, Marty.
Back to Top
Sixwheels View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 27/Mar/2011
Location: MD
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 88
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sixwheels Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10/May/2011 at 11:48am
I don't know whether it's documented anywhere, but you have to turn off "Run At Startup" in the Windows Speech Recognition options and allow the ToolKit to start speech recognition before its settings take precedence. I figured this out after a couple of days noticing that my speech recognition would start out faulty, but after quitting it and then restarting, it would be fine.
Back to Top
mmarkoe_admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 16/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 331
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe_admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10/May/2011 at 11:58am
Originally posted by Sixwheels

I don't know whether it's documented anywhere, but you have to turn off "Run At Startup" in the Windows Speech Recognition options and allow the ToolKit to start speech recognition before its settings take precedence. I figured this out after a couple of days noticing that my speech recognition would start out faulty, but after quitting it and then restarting, it would be fine.
Are you saying if WSR starts before WSRToolkit, the Tune Microphone settings do not apply?
 
Starting WSRToolkit also starts WSRMacros which is necessary to create macros.
 
Marty
Back to Top
Sixwheels View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 27/Mar/2011
Location: MD
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 88
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sixwheels Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/May/2011 at 10:48am
Originally posted by mmarkoe_admin

Originally posted by Sixwheels

I don't know whether it's documented anywhere, but you have to turn off "Run At Startup" in the Windows Speech Recognition options and allow the ToolKit to start speech recognition before its settings take precedence. I figured this out after a couple of days noticing that my speech recognition would start out faulty, but after quitting it and then restarting, it would be fine.
Are you saying if WSR starts before WSRToolkit, the Tune Microphone settings do not apply?
 
Starting WSRToolkit also starts WSRMacros which is necessary to create macros.
 
Marty
 
Marty, I thought that was the case, but apparently I was mistaken. I seem to be having the problem wherein WSR is not picking up the Tune Microphone settings no matter whether it runs first or second. :-( I have to stop WSR and restart it before it will pick up the settings. I wonder what could be going on?
 
Another thing I should mention is that WSRToolkit never did start WSRMacros. Not for me, anyway. I had to put WSRMacros in the startup folder before it would run at boot time.
Back to Top
mmarkoe_admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 16/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 331
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe_admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/May/2011 at 1:04pm
Originally posted by Sixwheels

I thought that was the case, but apparently I was mistaken. I seem to be having the problem wherein WSR is not picking up the Tune Microphone settings no matter whether it runs first or second. :-( I have to stop WSR and restart it before it will pick up the settings. I wonder what could be going on?
  
Did you notice in the Tune Microphone directions where it says WSR (the speech bar) must be restarted after changing the values? Close WSR completely and re-open. If you run Setup the microphone again it will overide the Tune Microphone settings.
 
Another thing I should mention is that WSRToolkit never did start WSRMacros. Not for me, anyway. I had to put WSRMacros in the startup folder before it would run at boot time.
I'd like to know if anyone else has experienced this problem?
 
Marty
Back to Top
Sixwheels View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 27/Mar/2011
Location: MD
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 88
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sixwheels Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17/May/2011 at 4:54pm
I don't know, Marty, any time that I adjust the settings in WSRtoolkit, I make certain that I close down Speech Recognition and restart it again. When the computer is rebooted, not every time, mind you, but often enough to be annoying, the settings don't stick. Sometimes they do. It's weird.
Back to Top
mmarkoe_admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 16/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 331
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe_admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17/May/2011 at 5:36pm
Originally posted by Sixwheels

I don't know, Marty, any time that I adjust the settings in WSRtoolkit, I make certain that I close down Speech Recognition and restart it again. When the computer is rebooted, not every time, mind you, but often enough to be annoying, the settings don't stick. Sometimes they do. It's weird.
We still have not heard of anyone else having the audio settings problem. It is possible other audio functionality that uses your sound system (Media Player, VOiP, Skype) is overriding the settings.

Marty
Back to Top
Sixwheels View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 27/Mar/2011
Location: MD
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 88
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sixwheels Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17/May/2011 at 8:16pm
Originally posted by mmarkoe_admin

Originally posted by Sixwheels

I don't know, Marty, any time that I adjust the settings in WSRtoolkit, I make certain that I close down Speech Recognition and restart it again. When the computer is rebooted, not every time, mind you, but often enough to be annoying, the settings don't stick. Sometimes they do. It's weird.
We still have not heard of anyone else having the audio settings problem. It is possible other audio functionality that uses your sound system (Media Player, VOiP, Skype) is overriding the settings.

Marty
 
I wouldn't doubt it. That is typically my luck. Hey, I'm not complaining, I could be in a prison camp, or dead. Wink
Back to Top
Sixwheels View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 27/Mar/2011
Location: MD
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 88
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sixwheels Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18/May/2011 at 3:49pm
Does anyone know if there is a way to stop the WSRtoolkit from launching Windows Speech Recognition? I'm thinking that if I can launch WSR after the toolkit, I might be able to get past this settings problem.
Back to Top
mmarkoe_admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 16/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 331
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe_admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18/May/2011 at 4:30pm
Originally posted by Sixwheels

Does anyone know if there is a way to stop the WSRtoolkit from launching Windows Speech Recognition? I'm thinking that if I can launch WSR after the toolkit, I might be able to get past this settings problem.
Starting WSR is hard coded in the software. So is starting WSRMacros.
 
Marty
Back to Top
Sixwheels View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 27/Mar/2011
Location: MD
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 88
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sixwheels Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23/May/2011 at 12:08pm
So, the latest thing I tried was to actually drop a shortcut to WSRToolkit into the startup folder, and that seemed to work for awhile, but then this morning I noticed once again that the volume setting for the microphone was back to its original position. I have no idea why. ‹shrug›
Back to Top
mmarkoe_admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 16/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 331
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe_admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23/May/2011 at 12:41pm
Originally posted by Sixwheels

So, the latest thing I tried was to actually drop a shortcut to WSRToolkit into the startup folder, and that seemed to work for awhile, but then this morning I noticed once again that the volume setting for the microphone was back to its original position. I have no idea why. ‹shrug›
A couple of messages ago I wrote:
"It is possible other audio functionality that uses your sound system (Media Player, VOiP, Skype) is overriding the settings."
 
You responded you did not doubt this but did not say what other programs use the sound card on your computer?

Marty
Back to Top
Sixwheels View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 27/Mar/2011
Location: MD
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 88
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sixwheels Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24/May/2011 at 11:37am
Well, I do have Skype, and I also have a soft phone called X-lite. Oh my goodness! As I'm typing this, I noticed that X-lite hadn't started… As soon as I started it, the microphone's volume slider jumped back to its original setting. So that is the culprit! I should be able to fix that. Thanks a lot, Marty. Smile
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.66
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.107 seconds.

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional

§- Thank you for visiting our Windows Speech Recognition and Macro Forum.. -§