MSSpeech-Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Windows™ Speech Recognition Forums for New and Disabled Users. Help, Files and FAQs. > New Users & General Questions
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: WSR putting spaces between words
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

WSR putting spaces between words

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message / View First Unread Post
mattwood View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 08/May/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Post Options Post Options   Quote mattwood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: WSR putting spaces between words
    Posted: 31/Aug/2010 at 1:04pm
I have noticed when I dictate WSR will randomly put spaces after words in a phrase.  This typically happens after someone's name, but also happens in phrases such as "states  that".  It also will dictate names but not capitalize them, requiring a lot of correction.  Anyone have any ideas how to fix these issues?  Thanks.
Back to Top
mmarkoe_admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 16/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 331
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe_admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31/Aug/2010 at 3:38pm
Originally posted by mattwood

I have noticed when I dictate WSR will randomly put spaces after words in a phrase.  This typically happens after someone's name, but also happens in phrases such as "states  that"..
First of all, are you using Windows 7 or WSR in Vista? I'm going to try a couple of examples, let me know if this is the type dictation you are talking about?
 
My friend Howard Shand states that, when he is lining up his mementoes, he wants them to look perfect.
 
Bob Jones is a producer of wing nuts. He often states that the biggest nuts are not made the ones but the human ones.
 
I am wondering, if perhaps, you are pausing and breath inhales or exhales are being interpreted as words? Make sure the microphone element on a headset microphone is off to the corner of your mouth and not in front of it. Also, are you using a good noise canceling microphone?
 
It also will dictate names but not capitalize them, requiring a lot of correction.  Anyone have any ideas how to fix these issues?  Thanks]
Are these names that he is familiar with and that you have trained previously? Using the WSRToolkit version 2 or the Add a new word function when you say, "Open the speech dictionary."
 
Also, once you have dictated a name and it is not capitalized, you can just say, " capitalize Smith," and it will go back and capitalize that name.
 
Marty


Edited by mmarkoe_admin - 31/Aug/2010 at 3:39pm
Back to Top
mattwood View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 08/May/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Post Options Post Options   Quote mattwood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31/Aug/2010 at 3:55pm
Marty, sorry I didn't give enough info.  I am using Windows Vista Ultimate.  The examples you are giving are similar but it doesn't just occur with the phrase "states that", and it often doesn't capitalize a name until I add it to the speech dictionary.  If I say "Sherri's" it will almost always dictate it as "sherri's" when I am dictating a possessive use of a name even if I have added the name previously.  I am not using the toolkit but am strongly considering it if it will help with these issues.  It may at times be a pause but it happens too regularly for that to be the only reason.
Back to Top
mmarkoe_admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 16/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 331
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe_admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31/Aug/2010 at 4:26pm
Originally posted by mattwood

Marty, sorry I didn't give enough info.  I am using Windows Vista Ultimate.
We're using Windows 7. I still do not recall the extra spaces problem when using Windows Vista.
 
it often doesn't capitalize a name until I add it to the speech dictionary.
This makes sense. Also, I have run into the same problem with possessives not appearing correctly until the possessive name has been added to the speech dictionary.
 
I am not using the toolkit but am strongly considering it if it will help with these issues.  It may at times be a pause but it happens too regularly for that to be the only reason.
The WSRToolkit is unlikely to fix the problems you are talking about. However, makes it much easier to manage all the functions in one place. In addition you can easily create text, command, and navigation macros. Tools that might help you are the Accuracy and Scan features which improve your acoustic model based on your style of speaking and the ability to a add your typical documents so the system learns the context within which you use particular words. Also, the Tune Microphone feature overrides the poor handling of audio in both Vista and Windows 7.
 
Marty
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.66
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional

§- Thank you for visiting our Windows Speech Recognition and Macro Forum.. -§