MSSpeech-Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Windows™ Speech Recognition Forums for New and Disabled Users. Help, Files and FAQs. > New Users & General Questions
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Lose Dictation on Rare Occasions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Lose Dictation on Rare Occasions

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message / View First Unread Post
andy t View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 26/Apr/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 134
Post Options Post Options   Quote andy t Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Lose Dictation on Rare Occasions
    Posted: 28/Oct/2009 at 6:06pm

Hi,

This problem only happens on rare occasions but it is baffling and I just wondered if anyone would know the answer to this.

As I say, occasionally and if I'm honest, if I have left the computer for a while and I am not working on it and it is still turned on;

I will be scouting all around the computer using WSR and then I would decide that I want to dictate an e-mail.  When I would start to dictate, nothing came out on the screen.  So then, I would open a word document and try dictation in there.  Dictation would not work in there also.

If I then said 'start typing', this would work and I could spell out the letters, by saying each one separately but natural dictation would not work.

Once I then did a re-boot, then I would get my dictation back.

Does anyone know why this is?  Also, why would I lose dictation sometimes but never lose the ability to spell out the letters (as in 'start typing') one by one?

andy t
Back to Top
mmarkoe View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 24/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28/Oct/2009 at 6:41pm
Originally posted by andy t

When I would start to dictate, nothing came out on the screen.  So then, I would open a word document and try dictation in there.  Dictation would not work in there also.
Although the words are not appearing, does the cursor move forward as if it is putting down invisible letters? This has been happening to me. I simply place the cursor back into the invisible text, hit the spacebar and voila, the text appears. This has been reported to Microsoft Speech Workgroup and they have mentioned they have heard about it but not seen it.
 
Marty


Edited by mmarkoe - 28/Oct/2009 at 6:42pm
Marty Markoe, MVP
Microsoft Valued Partner
See us at: http://www.mymsspeech.com
Back to Top
andy t View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 26/Apr/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 134
Post Options Post Options   Quote andy t Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30/Oct/2009 at 10:35am
Although the words are not appearing, does the cursor move forward as if
it putting down invisible letters?
 

Hi Marty,

No, the cursor just blinks at the beginning of a document and does not move and no dictation works at all until I re-boot.

andy t

 

Back to Top
mmarkoe View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 24/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30/Oct/2009 at 11:45am
Originally posted by andy t

No, the cursor just blinks at the beginning of a document and does not move and no dictation works at all until I re-boot.
Very interesting. After I posted my first response to you this happened to me for the first time. Truthfully, I do not remember what application I was in, but it was probably Outlook. I guess I sort of did the same thing you did but differently. I opened Task Manager and ended the process, "sapisvr.exe," the Windows Speech Recognition program file. After opening Windows Speech Recognition everything seemed to work until I tried to issue a macro command. I had to exit Windows Speech Recognition Macros and restart for macros to execute.
 
It seems some of these annoyances have been occurring more frequently recently. I do not know whether it is the speech profile growing too large or conflicts in Vista. In any event, I started rebuilding my personal notebook computer yesterday with Windows 7. I'm going to import my user profile from Vista. If that starts giving me the same problems, I'm going to create a new user profile to see if that solves these type problems.
 
Marty


Edited by mmarkoe - 30/Oct/2009 at 11:54am
Marty Markoe, MVP
Microsoft Valued Partner
See us at: http://www.mymsspeech.com
Back to Top
russ View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 17/Jan/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 71
Post Options Post Options   Quote russ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30/Oct/2009 at 1:44pm
Originally posted by mmarkoe

I simply place the cursor back into the invisible text, hit the spacebar and voila, the text appears. This has been reported to Microsoft Speech Workgroup and they have mentioned they have heard about it but not seen it.
 
Marty,
 
I have the same problem, particularly when dictating e-mail messages in Microsoft Outlook.  My assumption is that the problem might be with my video card driver, but I am using the latest version offered by my computer manufacturer.  You may want to check and see if a more recent driver is available for your computer.  Install it and see what happens; I'm curious to hear how it goes.
 
-Russ
Back to Top
mmarkoe View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 24/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30/Oct/2009 at 5:11pm
Originally posted by russ

I have the same problem, particularly when dictating e-mail messages in Microsoft Outlook.  My assumption is that the problem might be with my video card driver, but I am using the latest version offered by my computer manufacturer.  You may want to check and see if a more recent driver is available for your computer.  Install it and see what happens; I'm curious to hear how it goes.
I just downloaded and installed the latest chipset drivers for the Intel motherboard. This included the latest graphics drivers. I just finished a slew of e-mail in Outlook and the problem had still occur a couple of times. Thanks for the suggestion anyway. I'm still rebuilding my notebook with Windows 7 and hopefully that will cure the problem.
 
Marty
Marty Markoe, MVP
Microsoft Valued Partner
See us at: http://www.mymsspeech.com
Back to Top
russ View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 17/Jan/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 71
Post Options Post Options   Quote russ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30/Oct/2009 at 7:33pm
Originally posted by mmarkoe

I just downloaded and installed the latest chipset drivers for the Intel motherboard. This included the latest graphics drivers. I just finished a slew of e-mail in Outlook and the problem had still occur a couple of times. Thanks for the suggestion anyway. I'm still rebuilding my notebook with Windows 7 and hopefully that will cure the problem.
 
Marty, here's one more idea.  My video driver software doesn't have these options, but if you can get to the Troubleshooting tab for your video software and the "Change settings" button is clickable (unlike mine shown below), you might be able to fiddle with the graphics acceleration settings to make them "more compatible" rather than "faster. " Maybe this will fix the problem, though my batting average isn't so great so far...
 
-Russ
 
Back to Top
andy t View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 26/Apr/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 134
Post Options Post Options   Quote andy t Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31/Oct/2009 at 2:20pm
Russ,
 
What are the exact instructions to get to the window that you show below?
 
Also, what does this do?  Does it make videos play better or something or am I barking up the wrong tree? Could you tell me by doing this action, what you are trying to achieve?
 
andy t
 
 
Marty, here's one more idea.  My video driver software doesn't have these options, but if you can get to the Troubleshooting tab for your video software and the "Change settings" button is clickable (unlike mine shown below), you might be able to fiddle with the graphics acceleration settings to make them "more compatible" rather than "faster. " Maybe this will fix the problem, though my batting average isn't so great so far...
 
-Russ
 
Back to Top
mmarkoe View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 24/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31/Oct/2009 at 2:23pm
Originally posted by russ

Maybe this will fix the problem, though my batting average isn't so great so far..
I will try to look at this on Monday at the office. However, I use WSR on 2 different desktops and my notebook. All now exhibit problems as described.
 
Marty
Marty Markoe, MVP
Microsoft Valued Partner
See us at: http://www.mymsspeech.com
Back to Top
russ View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 17/Jan/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 71
Post Options Post Options   Quote russ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31/Oct/2009 at 6:19pm
Originally posted by andy t

Russ,
 
What are the exact instructions to get to the window that you show below?
 
Also, what does this do?  Does it make videos play better or something or am I barking up the wrong tree? Could you tell me by doing this action, what you are trying to achieve?
 
andy t,
 
My replies in this thread are in response to Marty's problem with text disappearing during dictation, not yours, where dictation isn't working at all. In his situation, dictation is working, but the characters on screen are invisible.
 
My only guess as to what happening in your situation is that after a period of time of running WSR, the software has gotten confused and just needs to be restarted. You can do that by: 1. Exiting Windows Speech Recognition Macros and exiting WSR, 2. Waiting a moment, 3. Opening WSR again, 4. Waiting another moment, and 5. Opening Windows Speech Recognition Macros again.
 
-Russ
Back to Top
andy t View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 26/Apr/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 134
Post Options Post Options   Quote andy t Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01/Nov/2009 at 12:58pm
Hi Russ,
 
Yes you are probably right with my problem.  I normally just re-boot and then the dictation is okay again.
 
Having said that, I too, sometimes get the problem of the invisible letters and then when I say 'space', the invisible letters and words, then appear. 
 
That is why I was asking how you got to screen shot you showed in your earlier post?
 
andy t
Back to Top
russ View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 17/Jan/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 71
Post Options Post Options   Quote russ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01/Nov/2009 at 8:56pm

Andy T,

My advice to Marty is just conjecture, something for him to try. I'm not sure it will work or do any good. But with that in mind, the way to locate the dialog box is: 1. Right-click on the desktop and choose Screen Resolution from the menu that appears. 2. In the Screen Resolution control panel, click Advanced Settings. 3. In the dialog box that appears, click the Troubleshooting tab.

-Russ

Back to Top
andy t View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 26/Apr/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 134
Post Options Post Options   Quote andy t Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02/Nov/2009 at 1:39pm
Okay thanks Russ. I understand it is all guesswork at the moment why the letters do this.
 
It is worth a try though.
 
andy t
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.66
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.070 seconds.

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional

§- Thank you for visiting our Windows Speech Recognition and Macro Forum.. -§