MSSpeech-Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Windows™ Speech Recognition Forums for New and Disabled Users. Help, Files and FAQs. > WSRToolkit
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Help! Problems with Speech Macros software
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Help! Problems with Speech Macros software

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message / View First Unread Post
mingawanga View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 15/Jul/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote mingawanga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help! Problems with Speech Macros software
    Posted: 15/Jul/2009 at 1:52am
So I just bought the WSRToolkit and downloaded and installed Vista Speech Macros.  When I try to run Vista Speech Recognition Macros a box shows up saying "Can't start Speech Macros, Windows Speech Recognition Macros was unable to initialize its command system to begin operation".  When I try to open WSRToolkit.exe, a box shows up saying "It appears that the Windows Speech Recognition Macros application is not installed..." when I had just installed it.  WHat is going on here? No one else seems to get this error.  The Vista Recognition without the macro addon works fine. 

Using Vista Home Premium 64bit with Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000 Microphone
Back to Top
mmarkoe View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 24/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15/Jul/2009 at 6:22am
Originally posted by mingawanga

So I just bought the WSRToolkit and downloaded and installed Vista Speech Macros.  When I try to run Vista Speech Recognition Macros a box shows up saying "Can't start Speech Macros, Windows Speech Recognition Macros was unable to initialize its command system to begin operation".  When I try to open WSRToolkit.exe, a box shows up saying "It appears that the Windows Speech Recognition Macros application is not installed..." when I had just installed it.  WHat is going on here? No one else seems to get this error.  The Vista Recognition without the macro addon works fine.  Using Vista Home Premium 64bit with Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000 Microphone
Do you see the blue oval Speech Macros icon in the lower right Taskbar? When you roll over it with your mouse it says, "Windows Speech Recognition Macros. If not, then Speech Macros is not installed. Go to Control Panel, Programs and Features. Is Windows Speech Recognition Macros showing as installed? If not, reinstall. If it is there, uninstall and then reinstall.
 
Marty
Marty Markoe, MVP
Microsoft Valued Partner
See us at: http://www.mymsspeech.com
Back to Top
mingawanga View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 15/Jul/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote mingawanga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15/Jul/2009 at 2:49pm
I must have installed and reinstalled Speech Macros like 10 times already.  WHen I open macros the oval icon appears along with the message "Can't start Speech Macros" and I end up not being able to use it. 
Back to Top
mmarkoe View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 24/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16/Jul/2009 at 1:50am
Originally posted by mingawanga

I must have installed and reinstalled Speech Macros like 10 times already.  WHen I open macros the oval icon appears along with the message "Can't start Speech Macros" and I end up not being able to use it. 
In a previous message you wrote:
"Using Vista Home Premium 64bit with Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000 Microphone"
 
Part of the message above refers to audio devices. In our experience, web cam microphones will not perform adequately with WSR. Are you able to dictate quickly and accurately into WSR? If not, you need a new microphone and would likely benefit from a USB sound pod/card input.
 
Marty
Marty Markoe, MVP
Microsoft Valued Partner
See us at: http://www.mymsspeech.com
Back to Top
mingawanga View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 15/Jul/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote mingawanga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16/Jul/2009 at 1:51pm
The webcam mic hears what I say pretty accurately but I am using it mainly for voice command and not dictation and I do not want to wear a headset.  Is speech macros not working because it thinks I don't have a real mic? 
Back to Top
mmarkoe View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 24/Jul/2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote mmarkoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16/Jul/2009 at 10:11pm
Originally posted by mingawanga

The webcam mic hears what I say pretty accurately but I am using it mainly for voice command and not dictation and I do not want to wear a headset.
If you don't want a headset, look at desktop microphones.
 
Is speech macros not working because it thinks I don't have a real mic?
Run the Setup my microphone utility and see if it passes? If it does not, then you have your answer. If it does, you can contact microsoft with your problem at:
 
Marty
Marty Markoe, MVP
Microsoft Valued Partner
See us at: http://www.mymsspeech.com
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.66
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional

§- Thank you for visiting our Windows Speech Recognition and Macro Forum.. -§